Kelec or Sparks: which app for your electric Renault?
Kelec or
Sparks?
Two free apps for your Renault, Dacia or Alpine. The table shows, with each publisher’s own sources, what each one states.
Kelec, if
Sparks, if
- You want your trips and consumption.
- You want horn and lights remotely, with each command’s verdict.
- You want the car to measure itself, with the car app.
Side by side
Feature by feature.
- Yes
- Partly, or depending on the car
- No
- Not stated publicly
| Feature | Sparks | Kelec |
|---|---|---|
| Free | SparksYesFree, no ads. Donations possible. | KelecYesFree (App Store, Google Play).23 |
| Cars | SparksElectric, hybrid and plug-in hybrid Renault, Dacia and Alpine cars. | KelecRenault, Dacia and Alpine (Alpine since March 2025). Its release notes also mention Hyundai.12 |
| Where it runs | SparksiPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, and the OpenR Link screen with the car app. | KeleciPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS (since October 2026).12 |
| How it reads the car | SparksYour brand account. Optionally, the car app measures trips inside the car. | KelecRenault’s servers, according to its release notes.12 |
| Remote commands | SparksPartlyClimate, charging, horn, lights, depending on the car. Sparks tells you whether Renault actually carried it out. | KelecPartlyRemote climate control, with temperature setting: from the app, the watch, Siri, Control Centre. Horn, lights, starting a charge: not stated.12 |
| Find the car | SparksYesOn a map, with walking directions to it. | KelecYesOn a map, with the weather at the car’s location.1 |
| Charge scheduling and limit | SparksPartlyLimit and schedule, depending on the car. | KelecYesCharge limit and scheduled charging.1 |
| Charging history | SparksYesAs a calendar, with filters and tags. | KelecYesWith filters, monthly summary, power and mileage at each session.12 |
| Charging cost | SparksYesYour price per kWh, at home or per tag. | KelecYesWith your own electricity rates (since 26 October 2026).2 |
| Trips and consumption | SparksYesEstimated from Renault’s readings, or measured by the car with the car app. | KelecNot stated publicly12 |
| Battery health | SparksYesSOH estimated from six months of charging, with its margin. | KelecNot stated publicly12 |
| Widgets and watch | SparksYesiPhone and Android widgets, Live Activity, Apple Watch, Wear OS. | KelecYesHome Screen and Lock Screen widgets, including Tempo widgets (EDF’s French tariff). Apple Watch app with complications. Wear OS.12 |
| Charging notifications | SparksYesCharge finished, limit reached, low battery. Set car by car. | KelecNot stated publicly12 |
| Data export | SparksPartlyTrips as CSV, with the car app. | KelecYesImport and export of charging history (Excel).12 |
| Try it without a car | SparksPartlyA demo car, on iPhone. | KelecYesA demo mode, according to its release notes (December 2024).1 |
Kelec changes often: if a line has changed, tell us and we’ll correct it.
Honestly
Each has its strengths.
What Kelec does and Sparks doesn’t
What Sparks does that Kelec doesn’t announce
- Trips, rebuilt from your account or measured by the car with the car app.
- Horn and lights remotely, depending on the car, with each command’s verdict.
- Charging notifications and the Live Activity.
- Battery health (SOH), with its margin of error.
FAQ
What people ask us.
Do Kelec and Sparks do the same thing?
Not quite. Kelec states, for example, charging history import and export and Tempo widgets; Sparks does trips, battery health, and horn and lights remotely. The details, with sources, are in the table.
Can I use both?
On Sparks’s side, yes: it signs in to your brand account on its own and doesn’t ask you to uninstall any other app.
Where does my data go with Sparks?
To a server in France, to track your trips and send your notifications. No ads, no tracking, and everything can be deleted from the app. The details are in the privacy policy.
Is Sparks linked to Kelec?
No. Sparks has no link with Kelec, or with Renault.
How we compared
Public sources, dated.
Comparison made on 26 October 2026, using only what each publisher states: its website, its documentation, its App Store or Google Play listing (description, release notes, compatibility). No user reviews, no forums, no press articles. “Not stated publicly” means the publisher doesn’t mention it on these pages, which doesn’t mean the feature doesn’t exist. Features often depend on the car’s model and services. For Sparks: the test versions described on our mobile app and car app pages. Brand pages come from their French websites, with the country named in each source; features can vary from one country to another.
- Kelec: release notes (“Release notes” link on the kelec.app home page) accessed 26 October 2026 · version 2.7.1
- Kelec on the App Store accessed 26 October 2026 · version 2.7.1
- Kelec on Google Play accessed 26 October 2026
- Sparks: the mobile app and the car app
Spotted a mistake, or a feature that changed? Email us at support@sparksapp.fr and we’ll fix it.
Sparks isn’t affiliated with Renault, Dacia, Alpine or any other app named here. Their names are trademarks of their publishers.
Try Sparks, keep what you like.
Free. In testing on iPhone, Android and OpenR Link.