My Alpine app alternative: what Sparks adds to the official app
Sparks and
My Alpine.
Not one against the other: Sparks signs in with your My Alpine account. Here’s what each one does for your electric Alpine.
Keep My Alpine for
Add Sparks for
- A history of your trips and your consumption.
- The cost of your charging, at your own price.
- Your battery’s health, estimated.
- Widgets, Apple Watch and Wear OS.
- Knowing whether a command was really carried out.
Side by side
Feature by feature.
- Yes
- Partly, or depending on the car
- No
- Not stated publicly
| Feature | Sparks | My Alpine |
|---|---|---|
| Free | SparksYesFree, no ads. Donations possible. | My AlpineYesFree app. Services free until the end of the contract, then to be renewed in the Alpine Store.34 |
| Cars | SparksElectric, hybrid and plug-in hybrid Renault, Dacia and Alpine cars. | My AlpineAlpine cars; features depend on the model and powertrain.4 |
| Where it runs | SparksiPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, and the OpenR Link screen with the car app. | My AlpineiPhone and Android.24 |
| How it reads the car | SparksYour brand account. Optionally, the car app measures trips inside the car. | My AlpineThe brand’s own app: it syncs with your car.1 |
| Remote commands | SparksPartlyClimate, charging, horn, lights, depending on the car. Sparks tells you whether Renault actually carried it out. | My AlpineYesClimate and heating, also scheduled, immediate charging, horn and lights.12 |
| Find the car | SparksYesOn a map, with walking directions to it. | My AlpineYesOn a map.14 |
| Charge scheduling and limit | SparksPartlyLimit and schedule, depending on the car. | My AlpineYesScheduling: mode, day, date and time.2 |
| Charging history | SparksYesAs a calendar, with filters and tags. | My AlpineNot stated publicly124 |
| Charging cost | SparksYesYour price per kWh, at home or per tag. | My AlpineNot stated publicly24 |
| Trips and consumption | SparksYesEstimated from Renault’s readings, or measured by the car with the car app. | My AlpineNot stated publiclyTrip history: not stated. A route planner with charging points.12 |
| Battery health | SparksYesSOH estimated from six months of charging, with its margin. | My AlpineNot stated publicly24 |
| Widgets and watch | SparksYesiPhone and Android widgets, Live Activity, Apple Watch, Wear OS. | My AlpineNot stated publicly4 |
| Charging notifications | SparksYesCharge finished, limit reached, low battery. Set car by car. | My AlpineNot stated publicly2 |
| Servicing, bookings, contracts | SparksNoNot in Sparks. | My AlpineYesService log and alerts, bookings in the Alpine Store, contracts and warranties.124 |
| Charge Pass and Plug & Charge | SparksNoNot in Sparks. | My AlpineYesMobilize Charge Pass subscription, Plug & Charge at compatible points.124 |
| Try it without a car | SparksPartlyA demo car, on iPhone. | My AlpineNot stated publicly24 |
Sparks relies on the same connected services as My Alpine: if they expire, Sparks gets nothing either.
Honestly
Each has its strengths.
What My Alpine does and Sparks doesn’t
What Sparks does that My Alpine doesn’t announce
- Trips, rebuilt from your account.
- The cost of your charging, at your own price.
- Battery health (SOH), with its margin of error.
- Charging notifications, set car by car.
- A verdict for every command: queued, done or refused.
- Measured and estimated always kept apart, and “—” when a value is missing.
FAQ
What people ask us.
Should I keep the My Alpine app?
Yes, keep it. It links your car to your account, and it plans your routes, handles servicing and paying for charging.
And the Sparks car app, on my Alpine’s screen?
The car app needs an OpenR Link screen with Google services. It’s been tested on the Mégane E-Tech, not yet on an Alpine: let us know if you try it.
What if my connected services expire?
Sparks reads your car through the same connected services as My Alpine. If they’re no longer active, Sparks gets nothing either: they’re renewed in the Alpine Store.
Where does my data go with Sparks?
To a server in France, to track your trips and send your notifications. No ads, no tracking, and everything can be deleted from the app. The details are in the privacy policy.
Is Sparks an Alpine app?
No. Sparks is an independent third-party app, not affiliated with Alpine or Renault.
How we compared
Public sources, dated.
Comparison made on 26 October 2026, using only what each publisher states: its website, its documentation, its App Store or Google Play listing (description, release notes, compatibility). No user reviews, no forums, no press articles. “Not stated publicly” means the publisher doesn’t mention it on these pages, which doesn’t mean the feature doesn’t exist. Features often depend on the car’s model and services. For Sparks: the test versions described on our mobile app and car app pages. Brand pages come from their French websites, with the country named in each source; features can vary from one country to another.
- Alpine user manual: the My Alpine app (in French) accessed 26 October 2026
- Alpine France: My Alpine accessed 26 October 2026
- Alpine France FAQ: connected services on a used car accessed 26 October 2026
- My Alpine on the App Store accessed 26 October 2026 · version 6.14.0
- Sparks: the mobile app and the car app
Spotted a mistake, or a feature that changed? Email us at support@sparksapp.fr and we’ll fix it.
Sparks isn’t affiliated with Renault, Dacia, Alpine or any other app named here. Their names are trademarks of their publishers.
Try Sparks, keep what you like.
Free. In testing on iPhone, Android and OpenR Link.