Skip to content
Sparks
EN
Become a tester
Menu

Sparks or Aximote: which app to track your electric Renault?

Sparks or
Aximote?

Two ways to keep track of an electric car. Aximote analyses your driving from the car’s screen. Sparks starts from your brand account and follows the car everywhere, even without a compatible screen.

Checked on 26 October 2026Public sources at the bottom

Aximote, if

  • Your car runs Android Automotive.2
  • You want to analyse your driving: tips, rankings, challenges.4
  • You have cars from several brands.2
  • You want CSV, XLSX or API exports, or Home Assistant: Pro plan.4

Sparks, if

  • Your car doesn’t have Android Automotive and you want to follow it from your account, without going through Android Auto or CarPlay.
  • You want to control the car remotely.
  • You want a fully free app, with no paid plan.
  • You want widgets, the Live Activity and your watch.
  • You don’t want a driving score.

Side by side

Feature by feature.

  • Yes
  • Partly, or depending on the car
  • No
  • Not stated publicly
Sparks and Aximote, feature by feature
FeatureSparksAximote
FreeSparksYesFree, no ads. Donations possible.AximotePartlyFree: 1 car, 30 days of history. Plus: €49.99 a year (2 cars, 1 year of history). Pro: €89.99 a year (3 cars, unlimited). 14-day trial.4
CarsSparksElectric, hybrid and plug-in hybrid Renault, Dacia and Alpine cars.AximotePartlyBuilt for Android Automotive, across many brands: Renault and Alpine are on its list, Dacia isn’t. With Android Auto or CarPlay, a phone is required; extended features on Android Automotive.23
Where it runsSparksiPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, and the OpenR Link screen with the car app.AximoteiPhone, Android, and the car’s screen (Android Automotive).6
How it reads the carSparksYour brand account. Optionally, the car app measures trips inside the car.AximoteAn app installed on the car’s screen that reads its data live. Otherwise Android Auto or CarPlay.25
Remote commandsSparksPartlyClimate, charging, horn, lights, depending on the car. Sparks tells you whether Renault actually carried it out.AximoteNoAccording to Aximote, it focuses on analysis.5
Charge scheduling and limitSparksPartlyLimit and schedule, depending on the car.AximoteNot stated publicly45
Charging historySparksYesAs a calendar, with filters and tags.AximoteYesCharging sessions detected, with detailed charts.34
Charging costSparksYesYour price per kWh, at home or per tag.AximoteYesCharging cost tracking.35
Trips and consumptionSparksYesEstimated from Renault’s readings, or measured by the car with the car app.AximoteYesAutomatic tracking, measured in the car.45
Driving analysisSparksNoNo, by choice: no driving score, no speeding log.AximoteYesIn-car driving feedback, rankings and challenges, speed limit charts.14
Battery healthSparksYesSOH estimated from six months of charging, with its margin.AximoteNot stated publicly5
Widgets and watchSparksYesiPhone and Android widgets, Live Activity, Apple Watch, Wear OS.AximoteNot stated publicly14
Charging notificationsSparksYesCharge finished, limit reached, low battery. Set car by car.AximoteNot stated publicly4
Data exportSparksPartlyTrips as CSV, with the car app.AximoteYesCSV, XLSX and API with the Pro plan, according to its pricing page (its comparison page says Plus and Pro); Home Assistant integration with Pro.45
Try it without a carSparksPartlyA demo car, on iPhone.AximoteYesA live demo on its website.1

Aximote’s prices are those on its pricing page, in euros, on the date of checking.

Honestly

Each has its strengths.

What Aximote does and Sparks doesn’t

  • Cars from many brands, not just Renault, Dacia and Alpine.2
  • Live driving feedback on the car’s screen.5
  • Rankings and challenges between drivers.4
  • CSV, XLSX and API exports, and a Home Assistant integration, with the Pro plan.4

What Sparks does that Aximote doesn’t announce

  • Tracking from your brand account, without an Android Automotive screen, including the Zoe, the Spring and electric Dacias, which aren’t on Aximote’s lists.23
  • Remote commands: climate, charging, horn, lights, depending on the car.5
  • Charge limit and scheduling.
  • Battery health (SOH), with its margin of error.
  • iPhone and Android widgets, the Live Activity, Apple Watch and Wear OS.
  • A fully free app: no paid plan.4

FAQ

What people ask us.

Can I use both?

On Sparks’s side, yes: it reads the car from your brand account and, if you install it, from the car app. It doesn’t ask you to uninstall any other app.

Does Sparks have an app for the car’s screen too?

Yes, the car app, on the OpenR Link screen with Google services. It measures your trips in the car and sends them to your phone. It’s optional.

Why doesn’t Sparks score my driving?

By choice. Sparks keeps no driving score and no speeding log: it shows what the car does, without scoring the driver.

Where does my data go with Sparks?

To a server in France, to track your trips and send your notifications. No ads, no tracking, and everything can be deleted from the app. The details are in the privacy policy.

Is Sparks linked to Aximote?

No. Sparks has no link with Aximote, or with Renault.

How we compared

Public sources, dated.

Comparison made on 26 October 2026, using only what each publisher states: its website, its documentation, its App Store or Google Play listing (description, release notes, compatibility). No user reviews, no forums, no press articles. “Not stated publicly” means the publisher doesn’t mention it on these pages, which doesn’t mean the feature doesn’t exist. Features often depend on the car’s model and services. For Sparks: the test versions described on our mobile app and car app pages. Brand pages come from their French websites, with the country named in each source; features can vary from one country to another.

  1. Aximote accessed 26 October 2026
  2. Aximote: compatible cars accessed 26 October 2026
  3. Aximote: Renault cars accessed 26 October 2026
  4. Aximote: pricing accessed 26 October 2026
  5. Aximote: comparison with My Renault accessed 26 October 2026
  6. Aximote FAQ accessed 26 October 2026
  7. Sparks: the mobile app and the car app

Spotted a mistake, or a feature that changed? Email us at support@sparksapp.fr and we’ll fix it.

Sparks isn’t affiliated with Renault, Dacia, Alpine or any other app named here. Their names are trademarks of their publishers.

Try Sparks, keep what you like.

Free. In testing on iPhone, Android and OpenR Link.

Coming soon to theApp StoreComing soon toGoogle Play